Last call for Wilbur Award entries

Religion Communicators Council

Entry period closes at the end of January 31, 2023

NEW YORK — The Religion Communicators Council (RCC) is accepting entries for the 2023 Wilbur Awards. Secular communications professionals have until the end of January 31, 2023, to submit work produced during 2022 for consideration in one of the oldest recognition programs in religion communication.

Since 1949, the Wilbur Awards have been presented annually to recognize excellence in the communication of religious issues, values, and themes in secular media. The Wilburs honor excellence by individuals and organizations in secular media in several categories – audio (podcasts, radio), audio-visual (film, TV), images (illustration, photography), and written works (books, newspapers and magazines). 

Winners in 2022 included The Los Angeles Times, the Detroit Free Press, The Atlantic, Mitch Albom, Dr. Michael Waters and other authors, bloggers, contributors, documentarians, journalists, motion picture producers, newscasters, podcasters, radio reporters, writers and more.  

Included among those entries that received awards were “Afghan war’s end quiets chaplain’s litany of funeral prayers,” by Matt Sedensky writing for the Associated Press; “With God On Our Side,” a documentary by RTÉ in Ireland; “Martini Judaism: for those who want to be shaken and stirred,” a featured blog with the Religion News Service; and reporting from Kevin Tibble’s NBC Nightly News exploration of the return to the pews after the pandemic.

RCC President Rev. Brian Fesler says, “This award is a very high honor. Recipients have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and professionalism that goes beyond the norm. We are thrilled each year to help lift their work to new levels.”

The 2023 awards will be presented during the RCC National Convention, to be held April 19-21, 2023 in Chicago, IL. Winners receive an individually handcrafted stained-glass Wilbur trophy and national recognition for their work.

Juries of media professionals coordinated by Religion Communicators Council members across the country evaluate submissions on content, creativity, impact and excellence in communicating religious values.  After the Wilbur Awards Ceremony, all entrants receive judges’ ballots, with scores and comments on their entry.

The award is named for the late Marvin C. Wilbur, a pioneer in religious public relations and longtime council leader. For more information on the Wilbur competition or entry details, go to the Wilbur Awards page on the RCC website,


Rev. Brian Fesler
Religion Communicators Council
[email protected]

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Religion News Service or Religion News Foundation.

Donate to Support Independent Journalism!

Donate Now!