2018 AAR journalism contest: Deadline is March 6

Deadline: March 6, 2018

Annually the American Academy of Religion honors the best in-depth reporting on religion. The contest is open to all print and Web-based journalists.

  • First place receives $1,000
  • Second place, $500
  • Third place, $250


  • News articles, columns, editorials, and other opinion writing in Web-based or print media of any size
  • Three to five articles published during calendar year 2017
  • Any topic related to religion

Writing should include a historical, explanatory, or contextual approach to the subject matter, using research or perspectives of scholars. Writing for a general audience is preferred, as is writing on a diversity of topics.

Online entry form and contest rules: http://www.aarweb.org/jump/jawards.

Previous winners include journalists from the Anniston (Ala.) Star, Associated Press, Boston Globe, CNN, Chicago Tribune, Christian Century, Christian Science Monitor, Dallas Morning News, Global Sisters Report, Huffington Post, Kansas City Star, Louisville Courier-Journal, Orange County Register, Ottawa Citizen, New York Times, Religion News Service, Salt Lake Tribune, Time, Vancouver Sun, and Wall Street Journal.

Founded in 1909, the American Academy of Religion is the world’s largest association of academics who research or teach topics related to religion, with some 8,000 members in North America and abroad. The AAR neither endorses nor rejects any religious belief or practice.

Deadline: March 6, 2018