Obama names last adviser to his final faith-based council

(RNS) The last appointee to the 24-member council leads a Muslim community organization in Chicago.

Rami Nashashibi, founder of a Chicago Muslim organization, has been named to President Obama's list of faith-based advisers. Photo courtesy of The White House

(RNS) President Obama has announced plans to appoint the leader of a Chicago Muslim organization as the final member of his corps of faith-based advisers.

Rami Nashashibi co-founded the Inner-City Muslim Action Network in 1997.

Here is the list of the members of the President’s Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships:

Council Chair: The Rev. Jennifer Butler, CEO, Faith in Public Life

Other council members:

  • Bishop Carroll A. Baltimore, former president, Progressive National Baptist Convention.
  • Preeta Bansal, president, Social Emergence Corporation.
  • The Rev. David Beckmann, president, Bread for the World.
  • The Rev. Traci Blackmon, acting executive minister of the United Church of Christ’s Justice and Witness Ministries.
  • Kara Bobroff, executive director of Native American Community Academy.
  • Christian blogger and author Rachel Held Evans.
  • Rabbi Steve Gutow, former president, Jewish Council for Public Affairs.
  • The Rev. Adam Hamilton, pastor of the United Methodist Church of the Resurrection in Leawood, Kan.
  • Aziza Hasan, executive director of NewGround: Muslim Jewish Partnership for Change.
  • Lanae Erickson Hatalsky, vice president, social policy and politics program, Third Way.
  • David Jeffrey, national commander, Salvation Army USA.
  • Naseem Kourosh, human rights officer at the U.S. Baha’i Office of Public Affairs.
  • The Rev. Jo Anne Lyon, former general superintendent, The Wesleyan Church.
  • The Rev. Michael McBride, urban strategies director, People Improving Communities through Organizing.
  • Nipun Mehta, founder, ServiceSpace.
  • Rami Nashashibi, executive director, Inner-City Muslim Action Network.
  • Kevin Ryan, CEO and president, Covenant House International.
  • The Rev. Gabriel Salguero, president, National Latino Evangelical Coalition.
  • Barbara Satin, assistant faith work director, National LGBTQ Task Force.
  • Stephen Schneck, director, Institute for Policy Research and Catholic Studies, Catholic University of America.
  • Manjit Singh, board chair, Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund.
  • Alexie Torres-Fleming, executive director, nonprofit Access Strategies Fund.
  • Deborah Weinstein, executive director, Coalition on Human Needs.Revelations-Series-Banner-770x150

Donate to Support Independent Journalism!

Donate Now!